top of page
  • Writer's pictureXiwen Yeoh

This War of Mine - Gaming Review

Gaming world is a place where you can do whatever you want without serious consequences (erm, maybe a lack of sleep, hahaha). Recklessly running over pedestrians at the road side with a car, mercilessly wiping out every single enemy on the map, shooting animals for food (ahem, the only time I do non-vegan thing), slashing cute monsters with a sword etc. If I messed up anything, I could just reset the gameplay and start anew. Despite of my experience in gaming, this point-and-click game left me filled with emotion, pondering upon the morality of an action that is clearly virtual! Even if I steal, rob or murder anyone in the game, it's still just a game, it should be just a game that I can easily shrug off. However, This War of Mine gave me such an impact that I want to write about it, about how it affects me mentally, and emotionally.

I got this game during the Steam Winter Sale for only RM7.00. Having only completed one gameplay so far, I guess it will take me some time off this game before playing it again even though I want to but it isn't worth to put myself into depression because of a game. This War of Mine is simple in which you only need a mouse as control to move the characters left or right on the screen. The characters, who are the victims of war, struggle to survive in the tough world where resources are scarce and there are thugs who might shoot you. Out of the simplicity, this game is complicated too. The details are hidden in the dialogues of the people, things that the people said and the way they react towards any decision made or any action done. You can survive by killing other people, robbing or stealing resources, but those actions can affect the emotions of the characters severely. You can also choose to help other people with the limited resources you have, to show mercy even though it means you might be lack of food and medication, to lend your neighbour a helping hand when they beg you.

I had 3 people at the beginning, and then joined by another person.
Lost two people on two subsequent nights, shot during scavenging.

A homeless people begged me for food when I was scavenging, after a few days I went back with food, and found that he was already dead of starvation; an old man begged me not to take his wife medicines, I took one because I was desperate, and the couples were found dead the next day; some children walked away with disappointment as I didn't have any medicine to help their mother.

"Are you going to kill us...?"

"You don't seem heartless..."

"Are you with the bandits...?"

"Please..."

There are people who are offensive too, raising their guns at you asking you to leave because they want to protect themselves, they do not know whether you will hurt them. Some even shoot you at sight when you take them by surprise. I can understand the fear as people can be unpredictable during harsh times. One day they asked for a trade, the next day they drove you away before you have the chance to scavenge for leftovers. However, there are good people at the hospital, who show no discrimination towards anyone in need of medical attention, those who are sick or injured. They have very limited resources, but they still help you even though you do not have anything to offer (you can donate medicine and bandage if you are willing). I know everything is fake, but this proves the power of speech, it is speech that makes us expressive and human.

I was so glad when the ceasefire happened on Day 45, with only two of the characters left. I lost two characters, each on a subsequent night when scavenging. One of them was shot by fellow victim of war who got protective, while the other was shot by armed thug. I know it will sound silly if I express how lost I was when they died, but that was what I had experienced throughout the gameplay. The story might be fake, but the emotion that you give in this game is real. I do recommend playing this depression and anxiety inducing game, but do break yourself off the game when it affects your emotion too much. In this war simulation, everyone gets to go through the hardship of war without physically experiencing it. You will treasure what you are having now more, and appreciate every peaceful moment we are having now.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page