top of page
  • Writer's pictureXiwen Yeoh

Blogmas #6 & #7 - Fare Well 2016~


Image taken from Google, this doodle was for year 2016!

2016 is definitely not an ordinary year to me and I am thankful for all the ups and downs that lead me to where I am today! Here's a summary of what happened in 2016 for each month!

January - Volunteering with MareCet

Last year during my study week for the final examinations of third year, I grabbed this volunteering opportunity with a dolphin research team at Matang, Perak without hesitation, and it turned out to be the best experience I have ever had this year! It was my first time spending almost whole day on a boat out in the sea, seeing a free dolphin right in front of my eyes and learning about all kinds of birds at the mangroves! I am thankful to meet these wonderful people who play a part in dolphin conservation work~

Me (third from the left) and the rest of the team!
The best shot that I got during this trip using my handphone! This is a Indo-Pacific humpback dolphin.

February - Friends & Loved One

It was the semester break and I got to meet a bunch of high school friends to hike at Bakun Hill. The most enjoyable moment was after the hectic hike (well it was hectic for someone who didn't exercise like me!) when we sat down under the trees to have some Chinese tea, chatting away while absorbing the positive aura of the nature~ After the semester break, See Yen picked me up at the train station and we celebrated our belated Valentine's day~ It was my first time receiving roses from him, after 3 years being with each other, hahaha. I am thankful to have people I love and people who love me in my life~

Reading from the right, the Chinese characters says: forest tea house.
And yes, that's Popcorn's butt, hahaha.

March - A Trip to Melaka

It had been years since I last went to Melaka with my family and I have a very blurry memories about it. I went to the butterfly & reptile sanctuary with See Yen as I am a big fan of lepidoptera~ Just looking at the colours and the way they gracefully flutter or glide away makes me believe in magic! Even though butterflies have a short lifespan, they deserve to spend whatever time they have in freedom, and not pinned up in a glass case! I am thankful for being able to appreciate these little beauties in this world~

A clipper! Be gentle to them, and they might let you hold them~
A curious sun conure inspecting me as I am inspecting him, haha.

April - Volunteering with Turtle Conservation Society (TCS)

Whenever I went to Publika Shopping Gallery in Solaris Dutamas, it's because of volunteering in an environmental programme. This time me and my friends helped out at TCS's booth in raising funds for the conservation of terrapins and turtles. It was an exhibition called 'We Are All Together - Endangered Species Conservation World Tour', calling for the conservation of wildlife in Malaysia such as hornbills, sharks, orang utans, tapirs, tigers, and of course, turtles through arts. I am thankful that we never stop fighting for the protection of wildlife~

The banner for turtle conservation!
Done my first henna for free by a volunteer who helped raising fund for TCS by drawing henna~

May - Fletchling of Yellow-vented Bulbul

Baby animals are always the soft spot of people's hearts, I still remember how thrilled I was to see a fletchling of yellow-vented bulbul in my faculty, not being able to fly yet. Seeing that cats might harm him, I placed him at higher place. The next day when I came back to check, I found two fletchlings on the tree! I am not sure whether one of them was the same as the yesterday, but they were just so adorable! Mummy and daddy birds were lurking nearby to keep an eye on their children as they let them learn to be independent. I am thankful to be able to witness such an important stage in a bulbul's life~

This was where I found the fletchling, alone and helpless. But actually he did not need help, it's a learning process for a bird.

Don't you think they looks like sparrows? Wait till the day they look as elegant as their parents!

June - Moving Out from The Hostel

This was the first time in my life to rent a room outside of the campus and really live independently as their is no warden or hostel staff to help you with any problem you have with your room. It is a very small room, about a third the size of the room I had back in campus. Even though there is not even a bed (just a mattress on the un-tiled floor), Popcorn finally had a place to roam freely instead of being confined on my writing desk. I am truly thankful for this decision as I get to learn to manage myself, cook my own meal and have plenty of free time since I am way nearer to my faculty now.

The beautiful sky outside the apartment I am currently living in~
Popcorn sleeping soundly in the cage, which she abandoned pretty soon because apparently she preferred to sleep on floor, hahaha.

July - Entopia, The New Penang Butterfly Farm

Penang Butterfly Farm had been my favourite place since I was young. It was closed for quite some time for renovation and tadaaaaaa, they changed their name into Entopia and the farm became cavernous! There was not many butterflies there when I visited with my friends, but it certainly would get better when the butterflies started to breed. I am thankful that they increased the height of the confinement which means the risk of butterflies getting trapped on the ceiling is low~

This place is huge! Plenty of space for butterflies to go around~
The magnificent Madagascar cockroach~ Seeing it behind the glass, no worries, hahaha.

August - Final Year Research Project Sampling Trip

It sounds like hard work, but I am glad that my friend, Kit helped me out. The trip became more like a getaway than actual work since we had quite some fun doing it. The location was at Merambong seagrass bed, Teluk Kupang, Johor, around 3 hours driving from the campus. We stayed in a wonderful guesthouse, had very nice food and got the sediment and seagrass samples that I need in my research project. I am thankful for having Kit as a thoughtful senior and lovely friend~

The Merambong Island near our sampling site~
(From the left) Me, the boatman who was really helpful and Kit.

September - Being Vegan for One Month

Making this life-altering decision was easy, but coping with it and holding on to the principles despite of people's pressure was not very easy. This vegan lifestyle raised my interest in cooking and I found that cooking can relieve stress! It feels so good to explore the 'art' of cooking and there is not much stress since I am cooking for myself only no matter how bad or good the food turns out. I am thankful for becoming a vegan and starting to enjoy the flavor of plant-based food~

Simple curry rice~ Packed with goodness if plant-based food~
Cooked these for three people! Vegan Thai fishcake, spicy zucchini and vegetarian version of bak kut teh~

October - International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition & Conference Malaysia (IGEM) 2016

This is the fourth time I have visited the annual exhibition of IGEM at KLCC. Unlike the first time I attended this event, I no longer jumping around excitedly wanting to take in as much information as I can as these were very new to me. Taking my time, I looked at anything that interested me and spent time with friends. We have had a great time blending out own fruit juice by cycling to generate electricity and I have found some cruelty-free shower cream there too! I am thankful to be able to attend this event again and hopefully there is still next time.

This is the first BMW that I have ever liked!
Solar light innovated by Biji-biji Initiative~ Their products are really creative, had a lot of fun at their booth.

November - My Annual Dress-Up Nights

I don't usually put on make up and wear contacts, but when I do, it will be only a few times per year (because I am pretty without those stuffs *flick hair* *cough*). However I did enjoy dressing up once in a blue moon. This November there were two dinners held on subsequent weeks with different themes as a gathering of friends and celebration before graduation. Thanks to Erika who has been doing my make up for these 4 years. I think I will miss you after we leave UPM.

I prefer to wear a dress repeatedly for various functions instead of shopping for a new one for a new event. This dress was bought for Chinese New Year a few years ago that I don't even remember when, haha.
Me and Erika on Oppo phone's special effects~

December - Almost Reaching The End of My Semester!

It had been a pretty stressful month at the beginning of December as we had to do a final year research project presentation, submit a manuscript and thesis of the project, and get an internship placement. I am thankful that everything almost clears up by now that I have to focus only on final exams and thesis compilation. The location of my internship next year will be in Bangsar, where I will finally become a city girl and start working in private sector, a field that I have totally not experienced before. Besides, I also managed to rent a room at a strategic location with an affordable cost. How awesome is that?

I am ready for 2017! Are you?

Here marks the end of my 2016, which is quite eventful after looking back. I encourage you to do the same so that we can appreciate what we had done in the past 12 months and look forward to a better year in 2017. Don't be afraid to start anew, don't be afraid to make a change towards your attitudes and habits. The end of year is a good time to get out from the comfort zone so that we can shift our life towards a direction you have not dared to touch before. How about challenge yourself with Veganuary by contributing to a better, loving Earth? *wink*

12 views0 comments
bottom of page