top of page
  • Writer's pictureXiwen Yeoh

Blogmas #1 - Reasons I Bought Computer Games on Steam (Without Regret)


When people heard that I play computer games on Steam, their reaction was 'Wow', and when I mentioned that I bought the games, they were like 'What???'. I was not surprised towards this reaction because I had been having this misconception too. Since a very young age, I had been playing free online flash games and online-downloaded or pirated CD or cracked version computer games as the authorised version seemed expensive as shown on the rack of computer games store and not worthy to spend a penny on them. This went on until I got into university and started to manage bank account on my own. I was obsessed towards a game named Don't Starve that I replayed the demo for countless times (the length of the demo was only 3-day game time) until I found a cracked version on the internet. So I played on.

Look at the Tim Burton's style graphic, I fell in love instantly when I came across this game!

I am not a fan of Dota (even though I tried to be one, as it was trendy), but I know that some people play it on Steam. Out of curiosity I checked out the Steam store website and found that the price of a computer game is not that bad especially for 2D ones (I don't play 3D games as I don't want to overwork my laptop). Most of the games that I would be interested in cost around RM30, it's like buying a piece of women's clothing. My reasoning was, if I bought one game, I would just buy one less clothes. What a bargain! Hahaha. So at the end, Don't Starve became my first paid computer games. Along with Don't Starve, I also bought the Binding of Issac, which was also a love at first sight (the importance of graphic!). My latest addition was Spelunky, another addictive and awesome game. Well, all the games I play have some similarities. They are 2D with nice graphics, and their replayablility (how many times you can play without getting bored) is pretty high, at least for me.

My game collection. I do regret to get the Scribblenauts Unlimited, it's a children game.

MONEY SAVING TIPS

To save money and prevent yourself from regretting of getting a game that you don't enjoy, I do have some recommendations:

- Be patient and wait for a discount. Look under the Specials category, sometimes the discount is insane! Add the game you like into your wishlist. If there is a discount coming up for the game, you will be notified with email.

- Buy only 2D games. The reason is obvious, they are much much cheaper than 3D ones.

- Check the review of the games. I only buy those which are rated 'Overwhelmingly Positive'.

- Know more about the games you are interested. You can watch the playthrough on Youtube or check on Wikia about the games.

- Don't buy on impulse. I admit that sometimes I did, but it's good to take your time and think about it before buying.

- Choose the games with high replayability so that it worth every single penny you spent on them.

These tips are for reference only as we all have our own preferences. So far these work well for me. If you don't mind to spend some extra money on your favourite games, of course it would be great to support the game developers. Another thing that makes buying authorised games appealing is, there will be updates such new maps, new items, new characters etc. and also improvement for free. The developers might also release DLC (downloadable content) that adds on to the fun you already own with a small additional cost. I am totally crazy over the DLC of Don't Starve, maybe I should write a post about the game, haha.

Anyway, it's the Christmas season and this is my first Blogmas post! I will be writing every day until Christmas to motivate myself to spend more time on writing instead of gaming. In this season of love and giving, I don't mind if you buy a game on Steam as a gift for me, hehe. Stay tune for my next Blogmas post!

P/S: This is not a sponsored post.

9 views0 comments
bottom of page